The Science of Hockey: A Brief Intro

Gustav

What's good, VHL! I'm here with an article that I'm really excited to write...which I'll probably follow up with a much longer sequel eventually...because this week is my exam week and I'd rather earn my points and get the hell out than spend hours on end writing up a few thousand words for all of you (as much as I'd like to).

For those of you who don't know, I'm currently an engineering student. While I don't claim to be a scientific expert, I at least have exposure to some interesting concepts that can be applied to the sport of hockey if I think about them hard enough. And sitting here simultaneously thinking about something I can easily write about and stressing out over exams led me to wonder--why haven't I made that an article yet? That's what I'm going to do here, where I talk about stick design in a way that also allows me to boil down some key concepts that would be useful for me to know in the coming week.

Before we begin, some key terms:

Elastic Deformation: a material changing its shape in a way which can be easily reversed (like stretching a rubber band, it just pops right back to where it was).

Plastic Deformation: a material changing its shape in a way which cannot be easily reversed (like bending a fork--it doesn't bend back when you let go of it and even if you try to bend it back it won't be exactly where it was before).

That's all I'll mention for now for the sake of making this article digestible. There are some other words to talk about, but that's all we need to know for now.