Sakamoto's Rookie Experience After 12

der meister

"So you guys all know that I only started playing ice hockey after high school, right?" Ryuji Sakamoto, rookie defenseman for the Toronto Legion told reporters late last week. "The thing of it is, as soon as I started, it felt right, man. Like this was the thing I was supposed to be doing, but I just never had the chance before or whatever. So I started by declaring my interest in the VHLM, and Halifax took a chance on me. It was a bit of a jump from the level I was playing at in Japan, but it wasn't too bad. I think I had, like, 10 points in 16 games or something. Then at the VHLM Draft, I got picked up by Mexico City, and everything kinda fell into place, man."

Sakamoto pulled his jersey over his head and took a gulp of water before continuing. "I got a ton of hits, a ton of points, a ton of blocked shots. I felt like I was on fire and couldn't be stopped. Season ends and I get picked up by Istanbul for the VHLE. So it's back to packing my shit, flying to a different continent, and starting all over. But again, I felt really good. Maybe didn't have as many points, but my hitting game was even better, and my shot blocks were on point. Both years, the team fell short, but I felt like I accomplished a lot and was one of the top guys in the league on defense."