Something has to change

Berocka

Something has to change

This season the Mississauga Hounds went 0-72-0 the worst record ever recorded by the VHL or VHLM. As someone who still has a soft spot for the Hounds as it was my first team, the first team I was an Assistant General Manager and the team I was the General Manager for the longest, this has really hit a nerve with me. I know that the VHLM has boom and bust cycles and your team isn’t always going to be a playoff team, but to not win a single game is a bit dismal.

Firstly I am going to look at the roster. For the Mississauga Hounds there is currently one player signed and that was in the last week of sims. The Hounds a VHLM team, which is meant to promote recruitment and retention has ONE PLAYER. The Hounds are 1 out of 10 teams in the VHLM and they for most of the season had 1 player. Sure they traded away 3 or 4 players but even if they kept them there would only be a max of 5 players. The average roster size of every other team is 13.22. Mississauga have 1 forward and that is it. There are on average per team (including Mississauga) 7.9 forwards per team, 2.7 defenders per team and 1.4 goalies per team.

I do not understand how in a league that is meant to promote retention is there 5 teams with Goalie tandems yet the Hounds have 0 goalies. Surely of those 5 people playing a back up role, one of them would prefer to play every game? Not only that but Mississauga traded away a goalie in the middle of the season to someone who already had a goalie. Sure maybe they requested a trade for some reason but the fact that there is an empty spot is astonishing to me.