TPE! - What Score is Most Common (Read to Earn More TPE) [1/2]

eaglesfan036

Most Common VHL Fantasy Zone Scores

The VHL fantasy zone has existed since the dawn of time, and with it comes everyone's favorite tpe earner, the predict the score thread. One day this summer when I had nothing better to do, I collected the data for the score of every single regular season game from Season 61. I have always predicted a score of 3-2 for close games, as my hypothesis was that 3-2 was the most common score. My prediction was not correct, as it turns out the most common score of Season 61 was 2 to 1. If I was a real scientist, I would be looking at multiple seasons, like at least the last 5, in order to have a larger sample size to really determine what the most common score was. However, even looking at the most common score for S61 was a painstaking process that took me a while, and there is no way I'm doing that for four more seasons of data. If someone else wants to look this up for me, go for it.

image.png.2ddce85c328e4eebd39fd78d23d3e40f.png

The above handy dandy chart shows shows how many teams each different score occurred during Season S61. As you can see, 2 to 1 is the most common score as it occurred 43 times, or 15% of the time. The next two most common scores were 3-2 at 12%, and 4-2 at 10%. Overall, 50% of all games during S61 had at least one of the teams score exactly 2 goals, which means that if your prediction does not have one of the teams scoring exactly 2 goals, you are doing it wrong. In the future, I'm going to use this information to always pick a score of 2-1 in predict the score if I think the game is between two equally-talented teams, and will pick a score of 4-2 if I think there is a wider gap in talent between the two teams.