Groovy Dood the Vet

bigAL

It's the offseason after S75, and we find Groovy Dood in his happy place, reflecting on the career that was and will be.

It's been a rough few weeks diary. Everything that's happened so far has come with a but.

We got hot at the right time to make it to the playoffs, but it only happened once I took a backseat in scoring.

We had a cinderella run to the Continental Cup Finals, but I played like shit.

I was nominated for the Boulet, but I didn't get a single vote.

But, but, but, that's going to change. This is my team now.

Sure, I was a rookie these past few seasons, but I wasn't a damn wallflower. I wasn't top line material, but I was carrying a hawt second line for the last two seasons. I wasn't a leader in the room, but I was watching legends like Benny Graves, Guy Lesieur, and Lance Flowers be leaders. With those three in a room, there's not much air left for the rest of us. So I watched and bided my time.

But now, Lance is gone. Benny and Guy are inches away from getting put in a home. X shit talked me one too many times and is on his way out. I didn't like the cut of Willis' jib and now he's on waivers. I'm done my rookie contract, and I'm done being a rookie. It's Dood o'clock in DC.

I got moved up to the first line in the playoffs, and I don't ever plan on dropping lower than that. I'm the best forward on the team by a mile and management knows it. Now, the expectation is that I add some more bite to my bark. I've started leading off-season workouts with some guys like Ove and some of the prospects, just to remind everyone who's in charge around here. It's a vets responsibility to teach the young'uns how to train, how to play, and how to live. They're going to learn the Dragon way: beer and bourbon are out, clear liquors only; smoking is awful for the lungs, so juuls and vaping hash oil only. Oh yeah, and the classic you're late if you're not early, and stretchiness is next to godliness.