Veteran Presence - Tyler Walker

Advantage

Tyler Walker: What it Means to be a Veteran?

This season has been a very challenging one as we have failed to meet pretty much any expectations we could have had as a team.  I was looking forward to being part of a team with so many good people and players and unfortunately, with our struggles, we now find ourselves fully selling off after trading several of our other top players.  With that being said, I find myself in the role as one of the only veterans on the team, and that means something else entirely.

When I was a rookie on Malmo, I had Condor Adrienne who was about as good of a mentor as you could ever ask for.  There were a few other younger guys with a lot of talent like Hylands, Shields, etc...but honestly, it was a very weird experience as someone who had a lot of expectations for himself, but really was in a limited role.  I wasn’t counted on to be the guy which was okay, but it did complicate things for myself as someone who is a fierce competitor.

Flash forward to Davos now and I find myself in that Condor Adrienne role.  While I’m certainly not on his level, I know I need to be the leader this team needs me to be and while I’ve had many people asking if I think I will be traded, I still see myself with this team long-term.  I love it in Davos and I fully trust management to guide us through this and on our way to hopefully a playoff position again soon.