Czech sports journal catching up with Wann Kerr

VattghernCZ

Wann Kerr, one of the most prominent Czech players currently in the VHL, is enjoying another offseason in Bowen Island, B.C., albeit a one shortened by a trip to the Continental Cup finals, where his Vancouver Wolves lost to HC Davos Dynamo. Despite the difficulties in keeping up with our players playing overseas, especially with the ones residing in North America over Summer, we were able to steal a few minutes of his offseason time to catch up and chat about his season, offseason and expectations.

So, long time no see. How have you been?

Yea, I think last time we spoke, I was a rookie, right? I don't really feel like one anympore. Yea, things have been great, obviously I'm keeping busy, mostly with hockey, there will be enough time for other things later.

True that. Since our last chat, you've had quite a strong rookie season, hit some struggles in your second season, but you really broke out last year. What do you think got you over the hump?

Well, we had fantastic offense last season. I spent most of the season playing with either Nico (Pearce) or Henry (Eagles) on one of my wings, which obviously really helped both me and my other linemate, whether it was Oreo (McFleury) or S.nubbed (Analfist). We all were firing on all cylinders. And the confidence really carried throughout the squad.

You also had quite a playoff run...

But we didn't win The Cup. Getting this close feels great, but ultimately there's really nothing to celebrate. Yea, I got some goals and stuff, I was really feeling it, it felt like I had a puck magnet in my stick. Hockey gods have wicked sense of humor, let me tell you.

I'm sure your team will be more successful the next time. So, what have you been up to this Summer?