Marzipan and Gianduja

jRuutu

As I look back and think about Season 91 of Moscow Menace and my own season as a player, I am feeling a similar sensation as when you look down at an almost empty box of chocolates. What was supposed to be a pleasant and enjoyable experience turned into something else. As I now look down at the almost empty box I see chocolates like Orange Marzipan, Dark Chocolate and Orange Caramel, and finally; Marzipan and Gianduja. Only the bad ones are left. I feel sick, but not because I ate too many chocolates. I feel sick because I went through the whole thing and the end result is worse than I expected.  I feel sick because I allowed myself to get too excited, I got carried away. I wanted to eat all the nice pieces and still feel like a winner. I think the only way you feel like a winner after eating a box of chocolates is when you eat the bad ones first, then you end with the good ones while staring at the empty box.

I am a rookie when it comes down to eating a chocolate box. I am a rookie when it comes down to playing for the S91 Moscow Menace. That is all going to change next year as I will enter the season with well over 600 TPE. That is a lot more than before the rookie season started, which gives me a reason to be optimistic about the upcoming season. I think I am able to simply play better against the better players. That is something every rookie has to overcome as the teams you face often tend to look for any exploit they can from the opposite team, and often it is the rookie players as they tend to have some sharp edges to their game. I am no different, I had to learn the hard way that playing defense is just not for the defenders, the forwards have to participate as well.