Late Night Writing

Gustav

I don't need any more TPE this week, but hello. I thought I'd get on the random thoughts train just because--I have things on my mind and I like putting them in nice places.

• A week ago was my 5-year VHL anniversary. I still remember the day I joined. I was a super bored college freshman and scrolling through Reddit for way too long, putting off doing some assignment, and happened to come across the right post at the right time. I was a bit weirded out by the idea of talking to strangers and I had basically quit already when I got a couple emails that I'd been messaged ahead of the upcoming VHLM draft--sure, I welfared for a couple weeks at the start, but coming back on then was the reason why I stayed. That's why you scout people!
  • Talking to some of you is weird. I'm a very different person than I was as an 18-year-old VHL noob, but the kids keep getting younger. I didn't think anything of it when I was 18 or 19 and learned that someone was 14 or 15--and I still don't really do that today, because I get that we'll get new kids all the time--but realizing last night that one of you was nine years old when I joined the league blew my mind a little bit. 
  • I'm running another Town of Salem game, and sign-ups are open now! I'm not sure how clear it is that my games are open to everyone regardless of experience--and that those who have gained it are totally cool with you learning by playing. I do apologize if it's looked like an exclusive club to anyone on the outside, because that's never been the intent.