Claimed:Being a Noob

Being a Noob

First off, I can’t believe that this May will already by my second year in the VHL. Ever since I became active again, it’s been a great time as I enjoy this website so much that I stay up until midnight on Sunday night just to write a media spot (like I am right now.) While I can no longer say I am a noob, I want to talk about what made me go inactive for a while and what made me stay.

When my brother, Jim/Flyersfan, first told me about the VHL, I thought it was a really dumb idea because I already did enough writing in school and didn’t really want to do any more writing than I had to. After a lot of nagging from him, I finally gave the VHL a try. I soon discovered that writing point tasks and stuff really wasn’t that bad, and was actually kind of enjoyable as I got to know more about the league. I also discovered that while you wrote point tasks to make tpe, the league had so much more to offer community wise.

I joined the VHL the day before the VHLM draft, which made me a relative unknown leading up the draft. Luck was on my side however, as my brother was a waiver wire pickup by the Ottawa Ice Dogs the year before and was a good friend of Ottawa’s GM, Jericho. Ottawa was competing for a cup that season, and Jericho decided he wanted to have me and my brother on the same team. He wound up drafting Flyersfan in the 1st round and me in the 3rd round (I was probably the steal of the draft).

Jericho was a great GM as he was in communication with me nearly every day in some form. One thing he did really well that I think all GM’s should do is, before the draft, he sent me a pm explaining he would like to draft me, along with explaining the situation with me and my brother. While these pms before the draft may not seem like a lot, they mean a lot to new players such as the noob version of me, as it made me feel wanted and excited for the draft.

ygmlogo.gif