Looking at the MVP Candidates

Advantage

As a General Manager, I find that voting for the Most Valuable Player is easily the toughest and most stressful of all the awards to vote for.  In my opinion, it takes the most work and certainly involves more research than other awards.  This year, along with Ryan Power (Devise22), I have taken it upon myself to research the statistics of some of the major candidates to see how they did against other top teams in the league.  This is by no means the actual ballot list, but rather the main candidates as I see them.

The first candidate I want to look at seems like the most obvious, and that is Calgary's Michal Wozniak.  The positives are obvious.  He recorded the most goals (72) and points (154) in the league and really had no issues leading either category.  He played on a very good team that ended up the highest scoring in the league.  Some will quickly point to the fact that he scored a third of his points against New York and Riga, but that is to say that he didn't make an incredible impact against other teams.  Not only did he record a point in 62 of the 72 games he played this season, but in the ten games in which he didn't find his way onto the scoreboard, the Wranglers lost half of the games.  Therefore, despite having a lot of offensive talent, Wozniak was an integral part of the highest scoring team in the league.  While it is easy to say he benefited the most from NY and Riga struggling, his consistency and importance to the Wranglers is unquestionable.