From The New Guy

Spade18

This week has wrapped up my first ever full regular season in the VHL.

I've recently seen a lot of talk about the league getting stale, and "this being the end" and doom and gloom and all that.  Being as I'm a new comer here, I just wanted to throw my perspective into the ring on the league.

First and foremost I want you guys to know.  I love this.  This is cool as hell.  I love me some slow paced world building video games, and text based simulators, and this is just like, the perfect combination of the two.  I get a little rush of excitement every time I open a game summary to see how my player did and how the team fared.  I'm not a complete newb to forum simulation games.  Back when I was in high school (about 10 years ago now.... that hurt to say)  I was always in GM sim leagues and actually remember the VHL taking off.    My involvement in the sim leagues ranged from casual participation, to holding positions, to actually running one myself for 2 seasons.  

Having that experience let me say this.

I don't think we full appreciate the great hand we're in here in the VHL.  I remember leagues folding and falling apart, and while there may be a bit of a lul in recent history? THE VHL IS NO WHERE EVEN CLOSE TO OVER.  Yes, apparently some long time members have left.  Well that happens in real life.  What sets the VHL apart from any other league I've ever been in is that there are a plethora of users here who are willing to step up into these roles that need to be filled.  I can tell you personally from having a league fall apart under me, there was not even 1/90th of the support that I see here.

The fact that we have so many members passionately arguing about how to better the league is a tribute to the strength of the league.  Apathy is what destroys a league, not caring.