Shaka Lawal's Next Chapter With Team USA

Shaka

usatsi-10492226-1.jpg

From Outside to Insider, Shaka Lawal Eyes "Next Chapter" With USA Hockey

On Monday, USA Hockey sent the sports world into a frenzy when they hired former SBA General Manager Shaka Lawal, a relative hockey-outsider, as Executive Director of the USA Junior National Team. The move, both heckled in inquisitiveness and praised for it's convergent thinking, showcases USA Hockey's desire to return to Gold form in S72 while simultaneously experimenting in culture-driven leadership. On Thursday, Lawal spoke on the move and elaborated on the "next chapter" in his illustrious sports management career.

In an interview with Hockey Digest's Renee Wright, Lawal lamented on one phrase a number of times: Culture-driving, explaining "In my career, if I've learned anything about myself or the team's I've engaged with, it's that I'm a culture driver. Culture has been at the heart of everything we've built, from Houston to Omaha to Los Angeles, from Duke to Brooklyn. The common thread was culture. The teams change, sometimes the sports change, but the mission has always been the same. We drive culture and culture has been the byproduct of a lot of success and I'm excited to help further that here with USA Hockey."

Lawal added "I'm excited to really open this next chapter in my life and my career. I've been an outsider when it comes to hockey, the VHL, USA Hockey, but it's always intrigued me. I've been around, but not involved. The timing has just never been there and it never felt like 'the right time.' Now, the timing is right. It feels like the right time. I'm just eager to get started and dive in with both feet. It's like having an opportunity to do something for the first time, with the perspective of doing that thing at the highest level and being successful. There's a level of confidence in the unknown I've never felt before and it's truly exciting."