Pier 21: Landfall

LucyXpher

ahDeDjP.jpeg

Halifax, Nova Scotia - Canada

With the VHLM draft taking place this past Saturday and free agency opening immediately afterward, rosters in the M began to take shape. 

For Lexie Leitner, a first time general manager who was recently named to the Halifax 21st front office, it was a busy but exciting weekend.  Halifax added 10 new players with their draft selections, 1 new goalie by trade, and 2 new players so far through free agency. Following the weekend frenzy, I had the opportunity to chat with Leitner about the weekend and the state of the team going into Season 93. 

"Lexie, thank you for taking the time with us today and congratulations on the new job." 

"Thank you, Lauren, and it's my pleasure!" 

"So let's get right into it, you were named as the next GM of the Halifax 21st just over a week ago, how are you finding the new role? And maybe you could just talk me through your experience joining the team." 

"Sure, yeah, so far it's been a challenging but exciting job.  With very little time between being named to the team and the VHLM draft, it was a bit of a chaotic week reaching out to draft eligibles, doing scouting reports, and getting prepared for our picks.  Thankfully, I was lucky to have Will @Will3, our AGM, who has been a tremendous help in the scouting process and keeping up with the day-to-day management of the team.  To be honest, I wasn't certain that I'd get this job-- being a little lighter on experience than some candidates-- and there was a chance I might have ended up in Mexico City since they were also looking for a GM, but when it was announced that I was named to Halifax, I was super excited for this opportunity and I really hope I can live up to expectations and bring success to the city and the organization." 

"It sounds like a lot of your focus so far has been on the draft and adding new players to your roster.  What was your strategy going into the draft?"