Thomas Landry Retires

Doomsday

It's been no secret that Season 40 will be my last. It has been a long time coming, yet it hasn't been any easier to bring myself to do this. It's been quite the ride, with plenty of great moments, greater friends and some missed opportunities along the way as well. Yet, I wouldn't change any of it at all. I had the career I was meant to have and it couldn't have been a happier one for me. Coming into the league as a wide-eyed rookie, I now leave it a seasoned veteran and I can only hope that throughout my career, I've helped others make a similar transition in this great league.

Chris Miller, I've never forgotten that you were the first one to believe in me and to give me the chance to become something great. Fate made it so that it didn't happen as a New York American, but the time I got with your franchise was instrumental in me turning out the way I did. Thank you for all you've done for me.

Vince Wong was also incredibly instrumental to my development back as the general manager for the Bratislava Watchmen. You've no doubt seen the countless articles commemorating the Season 33 Founder's Cup champion squad, which featured many prominent future VHL stars. We did not come to the Watchmen as stars. Through your watchful (ha!) guidance, we rose up, came together as a fun, dedicated group and saw our task through to the end. The legacy of these players and the Season 33 Watchmen is a monument to all the hard work you put into making us all who we are today. Thanks coach.