Hi. My name is Sam Helberg.

scoop

I am not Streetlight, or Hustles. Right now, in this thread, I am Sam Helberg, a 22 year old living in a small town (<800 people) in Minnesota.

I apologize that this thread will be a bit more than just an introduction.

I used to be a kid. Those times were great, because I didn't have to care about anything. Growing up, baseball was my favorite sport (still is). I used to watch the Minnesota Twins every chance I had. I enjoyed playing baseball even more, playing on a summer rec league every year from when I was young up to the 6th grade. I played for my school team from 7th grade to 10th grade. I wasn't that great, and that's part of the reason I stopped. That, and also I didn't want my parents to have to pay a $150 activity fee for me to be able to go to practices and get a single at-bat and a few innings in the field during games.

I was always a (school) smart kid. I got A's all the time. I graduated 3rd in my class of ~120; tied for first was my best friend and my middle school crush. Some of my favorite times back then were riding the bus back to town (the school was in a city ~10 miles away) with the two of them. I wouldn't say I was unpopular during middle/high school, but I definitely wasn't part of the "popular" crowd, though I had some friends who were. From 7th-12th grade, I participated in something called Knowledge Bowl. It's a team competition for "nerds." Knowledge Bowl was awesome, and I was much better at it than I was at baseball.

So much more stuff I typed out and considered posting, but I probably shouldn't. I'll try to just make a short version. Here's some stuff about me:

-I've never had a girlfriend. I've never kissed a girl. I've never asked a girl out. I'm too scared to shit of rejection that I would never. It sucks. Plus I just become interested in girls that I am already friends with (or who I believe I am friends with), and "friendzone" excuse bullshit, etc.