Back in Time: a S66 Redraft [1/2]

Gustav

The S66 VHL Entry Draft, I'm told, was one for the ages, and by far the most deep of all time, at the time. I, obviously, cannot speak for this, as I was a rookie in this draft class. I'm actually writing about this season in particular for two reasons: first, the aforementioned, my presence within it, and second, the fact that this season is the one (so far) that I extensively covered around draft time with my own mock draft (because I need another reason to talk about it and haven't mentioned it in a whole 53 seconds), the creatively-named Gustav's Mock Draft, from which I'll be pulling such things as at-the-time team needs and lineup analysis. I'll also mention that this article is made possible by @rjfryman's post-draft live rankings, where I'll get all my current TPE numbers, and by the recently-renovated draft section of the portal (many thanks to @Will). Anyway, enough with the intro. Let's get on to the drafting. I'll be going approximately however long I feel like with this, so my apologies if we reach some arbitrary cutoff point or if you feel you've been FISTED ANALLY BY A CIRCUS MONKEY.

TPE numbers are as of last week.

YDVsy09.png#1: Riga Reign (from MOS)YDVsy09.png

Hunter Hearst Helmsley | @Beaviss | C | 1st overall | TPE: 431 (Current TPE: 777)

Actual draft pick: Hunter Hearst Helmsley

Mock draft pick: Hunter Hearst Helmsley

OK, let's get this one over with. HHH at #1, we know. Though a tiny bit of doubt about Helmsley's #1 overall status was thrown around before the draft, none of it gained any serious traction and he went to the Reign with the top pick. Here, there's no doubt--HHH is #1 in the class by 89 TPE, and, should he stick with Riga when his contract is up after the coming season, figures to be the team's (and quite possibly the league's) #1 forward in good time. 

obZGeHn.png#2: Vancouver Wolves (from DAV)obZGeHn.png

Julius Freeman | @rjfryman | LW | 2nd overall | TPE: 339 (Current TPE: 688)